Goals for payments on backend side

Hey guys,

I’m sorry for putting it in this section but I believe its the right place. I’d like to start a discussion about our goals for payments on the backend side and get everyone on the same page from backend to frontend. I believe it is a good time to discuss it as Clarity can make payments already, and guac (and its rita integration) wasn’t touched in a while.

I’m also missing some context as I’m relatively new to the team. For last couple of days I was consumed by implementing clarity so I apologise if I forgot about some facts.

I’ll also make separate topic with proposal for agenda for next dev meeting to brainstorm things we don’t know yet.

Current status

• Clarity 0.1.1 is released and is compliant with official ETH test suite for Transactions (all ~198 tests are passing), it was also verified on Ropsten testnet, and on ganache (at the time of writing I have another PR that does automatic payments verification on ganache testnet). This means that we can make ETH transactions on the backend even on MIPS and big endian systems.
  • We have contract developed and it could be integrated for DAO payments (@Sebohe correct me if I’m wrong). This process could be done manually as well before integrating it into the stack. We have a piece of code on Rita that already checks the membership.
  • Frontend is ready to do this.
  • Debt tracking works well and we should be able to at least allow simple payments between clients
  • DAO calls are done already on Rita side to verify if an address is in the list or not.

Use cases

I can think of one important use case right now for Guac that is not yet finished:

• Alice wants to pay Bob for the traffic she used.

Goals

Payments

To my knowledge this is currently missing and we need to implement it as a new feature.

• Alice wants to pay Bob for the traffic she used
  • Amount of Wei is calculated that has to be transferred from Alice to Bob given the parameters of the mesh.